Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Zenith Myth To Release Self-Titled Debut on September 6 via Vibra Cobra Records

Los Angeles based artist Zenith Myth is set to release his self-titled debut on September 6 via Vibra Cobra records. Zenith Myth is a personal collection of emotional charged melodic rock music that experiments in structure. The record was produced by Blinker the Star's Jordon Zadorozny at his French Kiss Studios in Pembroke, Canada. Jordon is known for having co-written songs with Lindsey Buckingham, John Parish, Courtney Love, Ken Andrewsamongst many others and recently produced for Chris Cornell.

Zenith Myth is 27 year-old Mike Edwards from Los Angeles, California. Creatively blocked and unfulfilled, Edwards got divorced and left behind what many would call the "perfect life" (a house in the hills of California, a successful career, a seemingly great marriage), and moved to a small town in upstate NY for some perspective. It was there that Zenith Myth was realized.

Edwards also managed to enroll some his close friends to play on the record including Paul D'Amour (Tool), Melissa Auf der Maur (Hole, Smashing Pumpkins), Mike Bloom (Julian Casablancas), Sam Goldberg (Broken Social Scene), and Meshell Ndegeocello.

Having recently moved back to Los Angeles, Edwards now reflects,

"My wife and I had a great 5 years together, breaking up is never easy especially when you love the person. But being "in love" and "loving someone" is a totally different story. Walking away from "that life" was the hardest thing I ever did in my life, but I would do it all over again, if I were in the same position today."

Growing up, Edwards listened to a lot of classic rock
, including the legendary Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and Supertramp. Add in a healthy dose of Dinosaur Jr, My Bloody Valentine, Soundgarden and Nine Inch Nails, and you have all of the elements that were incorporated into Zenith Myth's sound.

Zenith Myth is a break-up record of sorts, what guest vocalist Meshell Ndegeocello calls "the best kind of record." The songs are powerful and vary in tempo and tone, but almost seamlessly flow from heavy modern rock into classic rock into more melancholic, ambient, dub-like moments. The music is characterized by high gain, pulverizing lows, inventive and extensive use of feedback, distortion, digital reverb, and meticulous attention to textural sonic detail. The use of extreme volume and pitch pending, along with the loud-quiet dynamics of the songs form almost their own hybrid. From searing metal through gauzy textured ambient atmospheric ballads, to the heaviest distorted down-tuned subsonic bass sounds, the songs serve as a soothing balm for whatever may ail you in these modern times.

Track Listing:

1. Zenith Myth

2. Icicle Tryst

3. Ego Fader

4. Surgical Gain

5. Degeneration Blues

6. Hot Sleeper

7. Manitou

8. Drifter

9. When All We Had Were Promises

No comments:

Post a Comment