Tuesday, April 2, 2013

The Boxer Rebellion's New Album, "Promises," Now Available For Pre-Order

Photo: Vincent Dolman

London-based indie rock quartet The Boxer Rebellion are set to release their new full-length album, Promises, on May 14 via their own Absentee Recordings (May 13 for non-U.S. residents). Fans are now able to pre-order the album at iTunes U.S. for only $7.99 as well as through the band's Web store, and in doing so, those who purchase will receive an immediate free download of the album's first single, "Diamonds." Co-produced with producer Billy Bush in Los Angeles, CA, Promises is the uplifting and cinematic follow-up to the critically-acclaimed The Cold Still, and can be pre-ordered through iTunes HERE or through the band's official site HERE.

As a first glance into the new album, the band has officially released their music video for new single "Diamonds." Shot by British directorial duo Justin and James Lockey (aka Hand.Held.Cine.Club), the film stars lead singer Nathan Nicholson suffering a dead-end job and finding momentary escapism by way of a sudden free-fall flight through the air. Shot in the North of England, the team built an office space inside an empty shell of a building, worked with free-base skydivers in sub-zero temperatures, and plunged into ice cold waters to capture a stark and emotive film fitting to the song's message. Check out the music video for "Diamonds" HERE.

In addition to the release of the new album, the Promises North American tour will see the band's immense live show re-worked from the ground-up, starting in Montreal on May 21 and hitting numerous cities for the first time ever, including Edmonton, Calgary, St. Louis, and Pittsburgh. The band will also play Neptune, Seattle (6/2); Fillmore, San Francisco (6/5); Avalon, Los Angeles (6/7); Metro, Chicago (6/15); and Webster Hall, NYC (6/20). A complete list of tour dates is below, and support comes from much lauded UK-based band Fossil Collective. The band has also announced its largest UK headline show to date, a performance at the legendary venue The Forum on October 11. Tickets for the upcoming tour are now on sale.

The Boxer Rebellion took to their London rehearsal space and transformed it into a recording studio where the songs for Promises would eventually come together over the last 18 months. Moving away from the more analog and darker soundscapes that enveloped the band's previous album, Promises is a significant step in a different direction for the London four-piece - a hi-fi, soaring piece of work that truly delivers on the band's epic, signature sound, and individual skill as musicians. From the retro-glossiness of the album's opener, "Diamonds," to the wall-of-sound that is "Fragile," to the towering beauty of "Low," "New York," and "Dream," Promises presents itself as an evolution in aesthetic - diverse in soundscapes but singular in grand ambition - for a band that continues to push and explore its creative ability with each new release.

The Boxer Rebellion will be making the following North American appearances throughout May and June. Tour dates below. 


23 - Montreal, QC - Café Campus

24 - Toronto, ON - Opera House

28 - Edmonton, ON - Starlite Room

29 - Calgary AB - Republik

31 - Vancouver, BC - Electric Owl


01 - Portland, OR - Doug Fir

02 - Seattle, WA - Neptune

05 - San Francisco, CA - Fillmore

07 - Los Angeles, CA - Avalon 

10 - Phoenix, AZ - Crescent Ballroom

12 - Denver, CO - Bluebird

14 - St. Louis, MO - Old Rock House

15 - Chicago, IL - Metro

17 - Pittsburgh, PA - Mr Smalls

18 - Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer (co-headline w/ Rogue Wave)

20 - New York, NY - Webster Hall

22 - Boston, MA - Sinclair


11 - London, England - The Forum

*Tickets are available now via the band's Web site (www.theboxerrebellion.com) and are on general sale to the public.

Free six-song download also available at theboxerrebellion.com for a
limited time only.

No comments:

Post a Comment